History of Fairbanks Genealogical Society

On May 9, 1973, at the Thomas and Christine Amidon residence, 5 mile Chena Hot Springs Road, the Fairbanks Genealogical Society was organized. Charter members were Christine Amidon, Florence “Peggy” Collins (deceased), Jean Grube, Donna Krier, Ellen Nelson (deceased), and Kluane Spake.

The original purposes of the Society were to help each other trace their ancestry and to help others who have ancestors in Alaska, especially the Fairbanks area.

The first major project of the Society was the extraction of births, deaths, and marriages from the Fairbanks News-Miner 1903-1930. A grant received from the Alaska State Library helped published this index.

Past Presidents include:
Christine Amidon
Betty Feakes (deceased)
Leanore Miller
Ruth (Van Veldhuizen) Knapman
Adele Virgin
Tony McCarty
Robyn Murphy (deceased)
Peri Schell
Randy Pitney
David Hales
Janet Smith
Elaine Larson
Gigi Lemoine
Betty Robinson
Laura Walters
Connie Bradbury 2002-2004
Nancy Schafer 2004-2006
Joan Skilbred 2006-2012
Lynn Immel 2012-2016